What happens if you block someone on Facebook?

Social media can be fun but it’s always a good idea to curate who you interact with. It [month] seem like social media is meant for befriending complete strangers but you should be careful who you add to your social circle. 

In the event an interaction goes wrong, most social media platforms have an option to block both people and content producers/channels/accounts. It’s something you can control on your end and it is effective.

What happens if you block someone on Facebook?

What happens if you block someone on Facebook?

Facebook has lots of open communities, groups, pages, and it can lead to lots of unwanted, unpleasant conversations that might follow you to your profile, and to your inbox. They [month] also come from your friends’ circle.

Regardless, Facebook users always have the option to block someone. 

Block someone on Facebook

To block someone on Facebook from the web;

Visit the user’s profile.
Click the more options button (three dots button).
Select Block from the menu.

To block someone on Facebook from the iOS or Android app;

Go to your profile tab.
Tap on Friends.
Select the friend you want to block.
Tap the more options button (three dots button).
Select block from the menu.

To block someone who isn’t a friend, navigate to their profile and then follow the same steps as listed above.

What happens when you block someone on Facebook?

Once you’ve blocked someone on Facebook,

You will no longer be able to see what they post, like, or comment on.
They will no longer be able to see what you post, like, or comment on.
Your comments in groups and on pages will be hidden, and vice-versa.
Any likes (or other reactions) they’ve left or you’ve left on their posts/comments/photos will be removed.
All tags that they’ve added to photos will be removed however, the photos will not be removed.
All photos that you’ve uploaded and tagged them in will lose the tag for that person but the photo will not be removed.
If you’ve been blocked by someone, you won’t be able to send them a friend request.
If you’re tagged in a post by mutual friend, the post will be visible to the person you blocked however, they will not be able to see that you’re tagged in the post.

Facebook vs Messenger

Some years ago, if you blocked a person on Facebook, they were automatically blocked on Messenger as well i.e., you two could no longer exchange messages. That has changed. Facebook Messenger is now its own platform.

If you would like block someone from sending you messages on Facebook Messenger, you will have to block them from Facebook Messenger. A person can be blocked from the web, and from the mobile apps.

Conclusion

Blocking is something that can be undone at will i.e., if you block someone, you can unblock them later. If you’re blocking someone to hide select content, you can always create custom friends’ lists for when you post something. If you’re worried that the person you’re blocking [month] try to find your physical address, or try to harm you in some other, get the authorities involved.